Anthropology

Division of Social Sciences
MENU

Emeritus Faculty

Frederick G. Bailey (Ph.D. Manchester 1954), Professor Emeritus.
Social anthropology, political anthropology, bureaucracies; India, Europe. (Academic Senate Career Distinguished Teaching Award.)
fbailey@ucsd.edu
Roy G. D'Andrade (Ph.D. Harvard 1962), Professor Emeritus.
Cognitive anthropology, quantitative methods, national character; United States. (Member, National Academy of Sciences.)
rdandrade@ucsd.edu / roy.d'andrade@uconn.edu, Website
(Professor D'Andrade has left the area and is no longer available to participate in new graduate student research, although he remains a member of some continuing graduate student committees.)
David K. Jordan (Ph.D. Chicago 1969), Professor Emeritus.
Cultural anthropology, religion, psychological anthropology, sociolinguistics, interlinguistics, instructional technology; Taiwan, East Asia.
dkjordan@ucsd.edu, More Information, Website
Michael E. Meeker (Ph.D. Chicago 1970), Professor Emeritus.
Cultural anthropology, oral traditions, politics and literature; Turkey, Middle East.
mmeeker@ucsd.edu.
(Professor Meeker has left the area and is no longer available to participate in new graduate student research, although he remains a member of some continuing graduate student committees.)
James J. Moore (Ph.D. Harvard 1985), Associate Professor.
Behavioral ecology, primates and cetaceans, savanna chimpanzees and human evolution; Africa, India.
jjmoore@ucsd.edu, More Information, Website
Theodore Schwartz (Ph.D. Pennsylvania 1958), Professor Emeritus.
Psychological anthropology, religion, sex, cultural evolution, cognition; Melanesia, Oceania, Mexico.
tschwart@ucsd.edu
(Professor Schwartz is not available to participate in graduate student research.)
Melford E. Spiro (Ph.D. Northwestern 1950), Professor Emeritus.
Cultural anthropology, psychological anthropology, comparative religion; Southeast Asia, Middle East. (Member, National Academy of Sciences; Founding Chair of the Department)
mspiro@ucsd.edu